Aspies For Freedom

Full Version: Warning, mixsig.net apparently was cracked! Please read this
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Apparently, a Russian cracker altered mixsig.net, my favorite synaesthesia-related message board. Sad

When at mixsig.net, my web browser reported connecting to a web site called "kusik-tusik-trf.com",  (or similar) which I couldn't recall occurring before!

I ended up reformatting the HDD then reinstalling Windows, because of the browser accessing a web site with a suspicious looking domain name, because for all I know, it could have rootkitted my Windows! Sad

It apparently used a security hole in phpBB.
Sorry to hear about that =(.
Because the original creator couldn't be contacted, mixsig.net is run down like it has been taken over be cockroaches!

Thus there's a new one:

http://freepowerboards.com/newnexus
OK, The original web site got fixed up, at least partially, so go back at your own risk:

http://mixsig.net
well i think is effectively fixed, yea i hate crackers, they give a bad name to the hackers (not mean i am one, i will like :p)

Ayreon Wrote:
well i think is effectively fixed, yea i hate crackers, they give a bad name to the hackers (not mean i am one, i will like :p)


Do you like going there like I do?

well actually i never hear before of this site, but i read a little now and it interest me, i think i will look it calmly tomorrow Smile
Just a quick note - merely accessing a webpage in a decent browser won't rootkit you. If you are using IE of course then it's wise to have plenty of spyware protection etc
Unfortunately, I heard that you can still get rootkitted just by going to a web site when administrator privileges.
Reference URL's